Its been a while…

Since I’ve been able to post something to you all.   I’ve been a bit, okay well alot busy lately and although I do have the word press app on my mobile phone for posting also I’ve had to cut back on that as I’ve lowered my data limit on the phone to save some $$.   Things are just getting more and more expensive these days it seems…not just here in Australia but all over the world so I hear.   Something needs to be done, and soon.

Anyway, I’m not going to sit here and grizzle about all that as I am sure like me you all hear enough of that stuff thanks to media websites, TV and radio so lets move on to more exciting things.

So what have I been doing in my absence?  Well not twiddling my thumbs that’s for sure.  I’ve been very busy working with Val (secretary of the Horsham Spinners and Weavers) making hand woven bags, hand felted badges, hand felted and embellished book marks, hand felted and dyed scarfs and mini loom pin cushions.  All to be used as “show/gift” bags for everyone attending the up comming Sharing Day at Norvall in Halls Gap: Norval Sharing Day that link should (hopefully) take you to the page that has more info on the sharing day if your interested.

badges

Some of the hand felted badges waiting to have names placed on them.

bags

A few of the had woven bags. 100 have been made, each with hand felted and dyed handles.

That’s the major project that has been keeping me busy.   But I’ve also been busy, once again with Val, in working on a creative display for the up comming Paint the Town Purple on the 15th to the 20th October, where stores and regional artists help decorate Horsham in Purple and some yellow to support Relay for Life and the Cancer Council to help in vital cancer research.   We (as in Horsham Spinners and Weavers) have secured a display in the Horsham Library so will totally share a photo of our display once it’s up.

And on top of all that I’ve been asked to do a mini yarn-bomb type dealio to decorate the S&W notice board in the studio as it was looking a  little on the shabby side.  So what an perfect excuse for me to attempt to make each motive in my book 50 Fabulous Crochet Squares.   Here are the ones I completed in August: (still need to be edged in black before sewing together)
Motifs

So colourfull.   I’ve made another 7 motifs since this photo was taken, so I really must get  a photo of them also, probably easier to make a photo mosaic out of them also before sharing them all with you.   I haven’t made any more in the past week though mainly becaise my focus has been on the Norval pieces and the paint the town purple pieces….and the piece I have decided to enter into the Horsham Show this year.    I’m in the process of finishing an Adult shawl as my entry.   It looks pretty good and I’ll share a photo with you all once it’s complete.   I’m doing it in 100% cotton 4ply that I got from the Bendigo Woollen Mills in the colour Light Teal.    First time ever using a cotton instead of a wool or yarn but it’s working up really well, I’m very happy with it!

Last but not least Horsham Spinners and Weavers is finally on Facebook so please feel free to check it out, add it to faves and been on the look out for our latest activities and events that you are ALL more than welcome to come along and join in on.  The more the merrier we say especially when it comes to fiber crafting! 😀

That’s pretty much it from me for now. I better get back to finishing my show piece so it has a chance to fall into place before I enter it. Wish me luck! 😀   And until next time, have fun and most of all keep smiling!

*Huggles to al who want them*

Dez
xoxox

This entry was posted in Crochet and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Its been a while…

  1. Thanks for the huggle – and I love the fibre-related things you’ve been making, especially the bags! You have been busy … =D

  2. Janne says:

    Your Binx is so beautiful, I have two great cats. I love your crochet squares. I leaned to crochet before I learned to knit, and used to make afghans for everyone I knew, whether they wanted them or not.

Tell me your Thoughts.

