Laptop Cover

Well I did it!! I completed my laptop Cover and as promised I wrote down what I did so hopefully teamed with photos you can follow it and make one for yourself. Please bare with me as I’m doing this via my phone again.

image

Ok so grabbing my trusty 4mm hook and some 8ply yarn I set about making myself this cover to suit my 10inch by 15inch laptop.

Ch 43, turn, dc in 2nd ch from hook and dc in each ch to the 2nd last ch. 3dc in end chain the dc along the opposite side of ch, 2 dc in end. Join with slst.

Rnd 1: ch 3, 2tr in same st, *skip 2 dc, 3tr in next dc, repeat from * around. Join with slst in 3rd ch at beg of round. You should have something that looks like this:

image

Rnd 2: in corner join with slst in ch sp of previous round. Ch 3, 2tr in same sp, * 3tr in next ch sp. Repeat from * around. Join with slst

Repeat round 2 until cover reaches 15inches or to reach the length of your laptop. Mine took 36 rounds.

image

I’ve been changing colour with each round.

Closing flap: with right side facing down work in rows now instead of rounds from right to left. Ch3, 2tr in same space, 3tr in each space till the end of the row. Fasten off and weave in ends.

Row 2: join new colour with slst in 3rd chain of previous row. See here where green has joined the blue:

image

3tr in each space across, 1tr in last st of last 3tr of previous row. Fasten off, weave in ends.

Row 3: join new colour with slst in space between 3ch and 3tr of previous row. Chain 3, 2tr in same space, 3tr in each space till end of row. 3tr in last sp between 3tr and last Tr of previous round.

image

I continued repeating rows 2 & 3Β  another 9 times.
To make button holes to suit theΒ  two huge buttons I followed the following pattern for the next 5 rows.

image

Next row, yellow in above photo, repeat row 3 in 5 spaces. Fasten off. Rejoin with slst in same space and continue row for another 6 spaces, fasten off. Rejoin once again with slst in same space, continue row till end.

Next row, blue in above photo, repeat row 2 in the same way. This forms the space for your button hole. Continue doing rows like this till your button hole suits your button.

Start next row as needed and 3tr in each space till you reach button hole edge. Into edge space 2tr, then join by making 2tr in very next edge sp on other side. Keep tight to avoid sag. Continue on till end of row. Fasten off, weave in ends.

Make two more complete rows after previous joining row.

Finishing

Join new colour with dc, dc in each stitch across row till end. Dc, ch2, dc in last stitch then dc down side of flap till just before the corner where flap joins pouch. See here:

image

In that corner dc, ch2, dc. Dc in each st along top of pouch (round 36) to corner again dc, 2ch, dc in corner, dc up other edge of the flap to beginning corner. Dc, 2ch in corner and join with slst in starting corner. Fasten off weave in ends.

image

Ta Dah!!!

Happy hooking.

This entry was posted in Crochet and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Laptop Cover

  1. Love it πŸ˜€ Going to start mine tomorrow after scrapbooking…..or maybe tonight LOL

  2. This is wonderful! I have been meaning to make a laptop cover for AGES! (as I have a bad habit of just putting it in my bag…) this looks lovely, I can’t wait to give it a go!

  3. Ann says:

    Love the colors you used! Bright and cheery.

  4. Looks Good – thank you for sharing!

  5. craftsbythesea says:

    Logve the colours

Tell me your Thoughts.

