Xmas Star Pattern

I’ve been playing around with some red, white and green yarn lately as I’ve been making a few Xmas related items for up comming markets on the 26th Nov and the 3rd December and realised I needed a few new cabinet/table decorations for myself as well as for the markets.     So with hook in hand and some (rare) spare time up my sleeve I nutted out how to make a simple 6 pointed star that can be used as a tree skirt for a small xmas tree or in the center of a table, coffee table or even TV or DVD cabinet.    Or what ever you want to use it for as the size is up to you really.

6-Point Xmas Star

7mm hook
100g skiens of any 8ply yarn in xmas colours (I used Moda Vera Marvel in the photos shown at the end of this pattern)

Ch = Chain
Tr = Treble Crochet
Slst = Slip stich
Dc = Double Crochet
Sk = Skip stitch

Round 1: Ch 12, then join into a ring using Slst

Round 2: Ch 3, 23tr into the ring join with Slst into 3rd ch on begining chain.

Round 3: Ch 1, * Sk 1 stitch, then 3tr, ch3, 3tr all into same stitch (this creates 1st star point), sk1, Dc into next stitch. Repeat from * 5 more times. Join final Dc with beginning chain of round.

Round 4: Slst 2 stitches towards the next point, ch3, 1tr in next stitch, *Place 3tr, ch3, 3tr into point of star – do this every time you hit a star point. 1tr into the next 2 stitches, sk 3, tr into the next 2 stitches. Begin point again from *. Repeat all the way around. Join at the end of the round with Slst.

Round 5 and onwards: These rounds is what you’ll do for the remainder of the star depending on how big you want to make it.    Slst 1 towards the point. Tr into the remainder of the stitches going up the point of the star.  Repeat star point again (3tr, ch3, 3tr). Repeat Tr all the way down leaving 2 stitches empty at the bottom. Jump straight across to the next point and Tr all the way up to the point again.    It’s VERY important to make sure the stitch counts are the same as any points with  a different number of stitches will result in the star becomming mis-shaped.

Here’s a photo of a small one I have made for use on a small coffee table:



Made using Moda Vera Marvel 8ply.  Rounds 1-4 in red, Rounds 5 & 6 in White and Round 7 in Green.



Happy Hooking!!

This entry was posted in Crochet and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Xmas Star Pattern

  1. I just have to say that I love your Christmas stars! ❤ If I ever get myself into crocheting I'll try to make myself some, and I'll have to post you some of the pics of my attempts if I ever do get around to it. 😀

Tell me your Thoughts.