Keeping things Neat and Tidy

I got sick of all the plastic shopping bags floating around the bottom of one of my kitchen cupboards so with a ball of yarn I had laying around for a while I thought I’d have a shot at making a Bag Keeper.    After a few un-ravels and rethinks I came up with something that works really well and is easy for any one to make.  As I actually remembered to write down the stitches I used I can actually share it with you here so you  can have a shot at making one for yourself.

Phoenixphyre Dreams Easy Bag Keeper

  • 1 x 100g ball of any yarn you have laying around
  • 2 hair ties – the elastic circle kind used for tying your hair back into a ponytail.
  • 6mm crochet hook

Abbreviations:

  • ch = chain
  • tr = trebble crochet
  • dc = double crochet
  • sl st = slip stich
  • rnd = round

How to do it:


Round 1: Ch 3. 35 TR around hair tie band. Sl st to top of ch 3.
Round 2 & 3: Ch 3. TR in back loop of each TR. Sl st to top of ch 3.
Round 4-27 (or desired length): Ch 3. TR around. Sl st to top of ch 3.
Round 28: Ch 1. DC around hair tie. Sl st to top of ch 1.
To finish: Ch 40. Sl st halfway around to one of the DC. Sew in ends.



And once you have stuffed it full of your wayward plastic bags you should have something that hangs easily in your kitchen like mine does:

Happy Crocheting! πŸ˜€
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Keeping things Neat and Tidy

  1. Oh, that's really cool! πŸ˜€ And definitely keeps things from going everywhere. πŸ˜€

Tell me your Thoughts.

